April 5, 2008

  • First Annual Charity Swap

    April 15 is quickly approaching and with it comes the deadline to finish your taxes. And to celebrate I thought of an idea that can possibly earn us a deduction on next year's taxes called the First Annual Charity Swap. Anyways, here's how it works...

    First Annual Charity Swap

    The first person to leave me a comment with a link to their favorite charity will be the person I "swap charities" with. I will then donate $20 to that charity and leave them a comment with a link to my favorite charity to which they will also donate $20. The only conditions are that both charities have to be legitimate and must accept online credit card payments. It's a win/win situation as those participating will become more generous and will discover and give to a great new charity that we normally wouldn't give to. Plus it's a quick and simple way to make our favorite charities $20 richer and even have a small tax deduction for next year.  :)  

    This will run on the honor system so e-mailing or posting receipts isn't necessary unless you want a copy for your own records.

    To find out more about different charities feel free to check out these websites...

    http://www.give.org (Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance)

    http://www.charitynavigator.org/

Comments (5)

  • this is cool........i may not be the first, and that is ok, but I will donate 50 dollars to a charity you choose :)   just send me the info.......but I will do it by check, so send the address too :)

    you're awesome man.

  • @thevertigopoet - 

    You're the first so awesome! My fave charity is one you've probably heard of - Compassion International. They're rated 4 stars out of 4 by charitynavigator.org and I really think they do a great job of literally keeping thousands kids out of poverty every year. Their website is compassion.com and their mailing address is...

    Compassion International,
    Colorado Springs,
    CO 80997, USA

    What's your favorite charity? Pete

  • I love Compassion too!  I have a boy in Uganda I "adopted" about seven years ago - he's so big now!  It's exciting to be a small part in those children's lives.

  • I work for Scripture Union South Africa and I see you also have a branch in the US - looked it upon your charity navigator.  I unfortunately can't take part in your swap but thought I would write this comment for interests sake

  • Thanks a lot for giving everyone an extremely wonderful chance to check tips from here. It really is so nice and full of a great time for me and my office fellow workers to visit your website at least three times a week to see the fresh guidance you have got. And of course, we are at all times happy considering the astounding hints served by you. Some two facts in this posting are absolutely the simplest I’ve ever had.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *