January 18, 2008

  • Huckabee and the Black Vote

    I was reading about Republican presidential candidate Mike Huckabee recently and found a surprising fact. According to exit polling, Huckabee won 48% of the African American vote during his last election for Governor of Arkansas, which for a Republican is very high. While exit polling can be inaccurate I do think that for some reason his message tends to resonate with the African American community - at least in Arkansas. "I do believe that the facts will bear out that Huckabee went beyond (Clinton) in employing key African-Americans on his staff and administration and also in appointing them to boards and commissions," said Stacy Williams, a Little Rock based political consultant (link). At work yesterday I was talking with two friends I work with who happen to be African American, one of whom a month ago was supporting Obama, another who is a Republican. I asked them both a few days ago what their thoughts are on the election and they both told me they like Huckabee - at least at this point.  I personally appreciate Huckabee on this issue though I'm not fully committed to a candidate at this point.

    Why do Democrat politicians usually receive a higher percentage of African American votes?

Comments (11)

  • not completely simple to answer but here are some to think about.  Consider what candidates talk about war, poverty, public aid for those in need, Job equality, fairness to speech, helping the needy.  it's not often the big questions but the small comments of lack of attention to what the minority and poor talk about.  what the democrats promised and actually followed through and put that to stark contrast to what republicans promise and follow through with.... again as it pertains to minorities needs.  we have an unfairness voting problem in kane county right now is it pertains to Hispanic voters and not given fair voting rights..  you can read up on it.  when lots of minorities (not all) think of republican, they think of White Christian evangelicals.  a vase majority of African American are very much conservative, but there understanding of social Justice is not so much different but more focused and louder then those of republican conservatives.  the so called tax cuts for the majority of big corps have not stimulated the job market despite the boom and fluctuation in the market and in retail sales.  the estamate projection given promised by goverment for new jobs created where not happening. there was no boom.  jobs where as they have always been on the raise and fall as it is every year.  it's interesting how my perspective has changed upon going to visit family and friends back in Chicago and Indiana.  countless amounts of unfairness and in justice that go unreported and yet not too many candidates touch on the social issues that people care about... so what do you do.... attach yourself to the group that has the bigger track record on helping the little guy whether is it or not true. 
    I now that some people do not like our president but I never thought it was as bad as I have heard these past few months.  The lack of care for the rest of the worlds opinions have been a tremendous impact to how the world views us now.
      but it's only starting to show itself now.  check out Chicago Public radio for a bit.  I stumbled upon it a few months ago and found the programing very interesting.
    plus you'll get an great world view of American minorities to what foreigners think... it's not all political but it is inspiring and I enjoy the programing.

  • good question but I think the color divisions are starting to reshape into economic divisions. Will have to see more closely as the primary season goes on...

  • hey pete!

    thanks for the info

    i'm not committed yet either, but i think i've ruled out huckabee

  • Thanks for the blog post.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.

  • It's an amazing paragraph in favor of all the internet visitors; they will take
    advantage from it I am sure.

  • Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess
    I'll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I'm thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I'm still new to everything.
    Do you have any points for rookie blog writers?
    I'd certainly appreciate it.

  • Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Safari, it looks fine but
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some
    overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, amazing blog!

  • Great article, exactly what I needed.

  • Wow! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It's on a entirely different topic but it has
    pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

  • you are in point of fact a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace is incredible.
    It sort of feels that you're doing any unique trick.
    Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a magnificent task in this subject!

  • When I originally commented I clicked the "Notify me when new comments are added" checkbox and now each time a comment
    is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *