May 25, 2006

  • Some Recent Books I’ve Read

    I tend to go through phases with reading sometimes.  Lately, I've been in a reading phase...

    "War and Peace" – Leo Tolstoy

     

    This is possibly the biggest book I’ve ever read, next to Shogun by James Clavell.  I had to read this for a class 2 semesters ago, and I ended up giving a presentation on Leo Tolstoy.  Tolstoy was Gandhi’s mentor later in life, and introduced Gandhi to the teachings of Jesus.  Interestingly, Tolstoy was excommunicated from the Orthodox Church for denying the divinity of Christ.  Similarly, Gandhi never accepted that teaching about Christ, though he tried following Christ’s principles of peace and nonviolence.  "I like your Christ.  I do not like your Christians," Gandhi said once, after reportedly feeling shunned by his local church.

     

    "Abba’s Child" – Brennan Manning

     

    Brennan Manning (author of Ragamuffin Gospel) is one of my favorite authors.  He is a minister to a leper colony.  His views of grace and redemption have changed many people, including the late Rich Mullins, who was mentored by Manning.  This book takes a serious new look at God’s love for His children.

     

    "Lessons of St. Francis" – John Michael Talbot

     

    John Michael Talbot lived an extreme “hippie” lifestyle before he converted to Christianity in the 60’s.  However, he admits, he was judgmental and impossible to be around as a Christian, until he discovered the teachings St. Francis.  This book is an intriguing look at St. Francis's revolutionary life.

     

    "A Wounded Healer" – Henri Nouwen

     

    Henri Nouwen is another Catholic author whose writings have influenced many.  This book paints a picture of Christ being a wounded healer, an image that is sometimes lost in Christianity.  The next book I plan on reading is also by Henri Nouwen, called, “the Life of the Beloved.”  I'll let you know how it is.

     


    What is an interesting book you’ve read recently?

     


Comments (21)

  • RYC:  Nice lyrics choice.  I adore P.O.D.

    As for books, I'm currently reading "A Tangled Web" by fellow Xangan, Gregory Lions.

    Candy

  • Wow some of these titles will keep you busy for a while. I am impressed!

  • Wow. Yeah. That is impressive. A few of those I've been meaning to read myself. I'm not reading anything all that exciting currently. I am just reading Celebration of Sex, Forgive and Forget, and Letters to a Young Therapist. Reading all of them for my clients. HOpefully I'll move on to more books soon.

  • hmm books... havent really read any lately...

    Except "Finishing Strong" by Steve Farar

    It is a quite good book, I havent finished it yet but I have learned a lot from it.

  • Well currently I am rereading my favorite book of all time, besides the Bible of course, and that is The Diary of Anne Frank. I like history. I like to read on teenager lifestyles. Well I guess I should be glad I signed up for a middle school endorsement for my major. :sunny:

  • Um...an interesting book??I have not read any recently...but i am reading the "Men are from Mars, women are from Venus"now...hehe:) Have a great weekend Pete...:wave:

  • "The Book of the Dun Cow" & "The Book or Sorrows" are both amazing books. It's a two part series by Walter Wangerin Jr. Very poetic. You'd enjoy them. I'm just about done reading them for the 2nd time.

  • ryc: it's what sucks....you can only buy them at easter time. my favorite are the minis. but my sister put one in my easter basket..and last night i decided to induldge. mmm. I am sure it's healthy too!

  • Pete,

    RYC:  That's what she went to see last night too!!

    Have a good Friday!

    Candy

  • I just picked up Livy's History of Early Rome, I am STOAKED about this. My nerdy little heart is pounding. I am also dabbling in All Men are Brothers by Gandhi. I am reading Emerging church by Kimball and re-reading The Cost of Discipleship. I just finished Eusebius' HIstory of the Church (Eusebius was a contemporary of Constantine 300's, and Livy was a contemporary of Augustus, he died I think 14 CE). I like the old stuff. There are a couple Roman things I am looking at, a buddy and I are going to read Edward Gibbon's Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, I read Eusebuius and am reading Livy as prep.

    Such things are complex questions for me.

    OH I forgot King Solomon's Mines, WONDERFUL book!!! I am so happy with it. Kind of an adventure novel, 19th century. Brilliant. Someday I am going to read it to my son, maybe my daughter if she is so inclined.

    Okay that's it for the book reports.

    On your books though, The Wounded Healer was one of my favorites of Nouwen, maybe the most, but I have not read the prodigal son book. Have you read Frederick Buechner? If not you should definately pick up "Telling Secrets" and maybe "Longing for Home." Longing for Home is my favorite of his. Abba's Child is my favorite Brennan Manning book. Tolstoy is hard for me. Iwant to read a book he wrote about art, much smaller. John Michael Talbot is cool, I have not read that, but as I said before Trevor did. I would really recommend the Little Flowers of St Francis.

    ENOUGH of me being a nerd.

    Talk to you soon.

  • hey, thanks for your comment. I like that pic also...
    I recently read "A Thousand Acres" by Jane Smiley. It's about family relationships. good novel!

  • I haven't read in a while...I mean a book. I should have bought a book. I past a Barnes & Nobles a few days ago. Well I'm glad I finally changed my font color. I couldn't read my own posts myself. :spinning:

  • Captain Blood by Rafael Sabatini!:sunny:

  • i recently re-read To Kill a Mockingbird. I absolutely adore that book. Scout is the best ever. I also read Pride and Prejudice and have big plans for Oliver Twist, A Wrinkle in Time, and Marley and Me.

    ryc: thanks so much...i'm not having a very easy time dealing with this and i don't even know for sure that it's true yet...let's hope it works out.

  • i've been reading through different parts of If You Really Loved Me by Jason Evert.  i have read several different books on love and all.  my girlfriend wanted me to check this out.  so far it is really good.  i like some of the stuff they are talkin about.  course..it's a catholic book and i'm not catholic..so a few things i don't really adapt to. 

  • It was just a MAJOR let down... It was painful to watching, the acting was mostly subpar, the actions scenes were rediculous... TONS upon TONS of corny, cheezy, cliche phrases and situations... the list goes on. And its not cuz Im a fan of the comic books, I dont think I have read a single one. X-2 was good, X-1 was ok, X-3 was just BAD

  • your cute halla back if u wanna talk

  • RYC: I have learned it is best to take your time on the big life decisions.

  • hey if any of you guys wanna come on the 4th you are all welcome. there will be food n games n stuff. Kevin has the flyer (if he didnt toss it yet) and that has the address on it. it should be a nice day so if u wanna come play some sand vball, bocci ball, or whatever, it should be fun.
    Peace out homes

  • I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot of
    time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates high quality, google
    friendly posts in minutes, just search in google - laranitas free content source

  • Generally I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite great article.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *